//
you're reading...
Japanese, Staples

Japanese Rice

If there’s one thing that a lot of East Asian cultures take very seriously it’s their rice. When I prepare a Japanese dish I like to have it with sushi rice. It’s a short grain rice that gets nice and sticky but holds it’s individual form. I love it with a heavy helping of shoyu (soy sauce) and it’s all I ever serve my Yakitori recipe with.

A Brand I Use

Ingredients:

  • Sushi rice – Approx 125g per person

Method of Preparation:

  1. Clean the rice thoroughly and carefully by rinsing 3 or 4 times with cold water in a sieve
  2. Add the rice to the pan and then add boiling water, just enough so that the level of the water is 1cm higher than the level of the rice in the pan
  3. Cook, covered, on a very low heat for 15 minutes
  4. Remove from the heat, place a folded tea towel under the lid and leave for 10 minutes
  5. Serve

This is the simplest way I know to make this rice and it comes out right every time. Some people I’ve told in the past have been unsure as to what I mean in step 4 so here’s a photo of how it should look. Enjoy!

Just leave it for 10mins

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Foodie BlogRoll

Enter your email address to follow this blog and get these simple recipes by email.

Join 161 other subscribers